My Eye

This is my eye.

I have been into painting recently. Something that amazed me is how much I enjoy painting eyes. Today, I gave a go for the first time for painting my own eye. This is my right eye. My heritage is Chinese.

My grandmother travelled by a ship to Southeast Asia, from China, ChaoZhou. So you got it right, I am Teochew. I could speak Teochew and Hokkien. I could understand Teochew, Hokkien & Cantonese. My first language is English, my mother tongue is Mandarin Chinese.

This I should say is a second Asian eye painting I have ever done. The first is here.

I find that painting the asian eye is more difficult than the caucasian eyes. Despite asian eyes have less creases, the asian eyes has more smooth surfaces like the eyelids are single, or even double eyelids are flat single stroke of white paint to achieve its shine (or presence of light as a contrast). The ‘play’ of shadow is more to make it look realistic. And since my pupils are dark brown that is closed to black, it is actually easier than the Caucasian eyes. Especially those with hazel eyes, there are more details and definitions within the pupil itself.

What do you think of this ‘eye’? Do you like it?

dsc00502

 

 

 

Author: zannnie

Zannnie first learned about the books world and how it worked at The Crazy Mind, where she was interviewing authors with witty questions (to-date more than 3000!). She has worked for the CARe Europe since 2011, covering book news as well as conferences, seminars and designing digital content for as many authors as she can. She also features photographers, artists and ed tech developers at We Use Gadgets, recipes for DEELISH RECIPES and creative people for the UXSCOOPS. She lives in Tallinn.

3 thoughts on “My Eye”

Leave a Reply

